RSS Feed

Morning has broooh-ken…

Posted on

People, it is 9:32 a.m. and Liv is still asleep.  Do you even know how exciting this is for me? Normally the child doesn’t sleep past 7:30 a.m., but it is now nine-freakin’-thirty-two a. m. and I’m hearing naught from her room.  Ahhh, a peaceful morning with my microwaved hot dog on a bun and glass of ice water breakfast. (We’re out of cereal. I’ve been to the grocery store 3 times this week and each time I’ve neglected to buy cereal. My children have eaten frozen beef and bean burritos and chocolate milk for breakfast the entirety of July. Am white trash mother without regrets.) Maybe this is why people wake up early – to steal a few minutes of quiet, a few minutes when no one needs them.  I’m not sure it’s worth waking up before the sun but it is nice.

Of course, I would still be asleep dreaming about header kitsch if the phone hadn’t woken me up at 8:42. Dentist receptionists? 8:42? Was that necessary? You couldn’t have waited 18 minutes to call with the reminder that the girls need to brush their teeth extra hard today and tomorrow morning?

My older two are still passed out as well, but I expect that’s normal given 1) they stayed up past midnight last night and the night before, and 2) they’re getting closer and closer to those funtastic teen years where arising before noon simply. isn’t. done. I do like it when they stumble down the stairs in the morning, long hair matted, sweet faces still puffy and warm from sleep, cute jammies that look an awful lot like yesterday’s outfit. They just look so young and they haven’t remembered that they think I’m stupid. 

It is now 9:40 a.m. and eeet leeeves!!! I hear the tell-tale banging on her door.  “Letta me out of dis room!” “E-eggO? Dora de explorah? Okay? Okay! Yeah!! Tank yew very muCH!”

I must prepare the burrito and chocolate milk.

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

Leave a Reply

