RSS Feed

To Glenda

Posted on

In high school Glenda and I were so not cool it was cutting edge how not cool we were.  Our not cool back then is what today’s laid back, uber-cool teens aspire to be. I’m just sayin’. Anyway, one of my most vivid memories of our early days as friends is the one of she and I driving around in her big assed, blue tank of a car listening to music. She pulled a tape (yes, back in the days of tapes) that had been used so much the words had been rubbed off from beneath her seat and shoved it in the tape player with a confident, “Listen to this.”  As the first few chords reverberated through her speakers I wondered if it was a joke. But it totally wasn’t. She was into it – the Camelot soundtrack.

Those seven deadly virtues,” she sang, weaving along the road, “those ghastly little traps, oh no, my liege, they were not meant for me.”

“For reals?” I asked. “Are you serious?”

“Those seven deadly virtues were made for other chaps who love a life of failure and ennui.”  I don’t want to out anyone, but there were jazz hands involved.  As with most things in our relationship, she won me over with her dogged refusal to give up all things old school (Frank Sinatra? Check.  Reruns of the 1969 classic television series Medical Center with that “hunky” Chad Everett guy? Check.  And classic musicals. Like Camelot. Check.). I soon joined in with the singing.

Because of her and that moment I can’t enter May without this song running through my head, so for you and especially for Glenda my BFF I hunted it down so I could totally plant this earwig in your noggin.

 

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

One response »

  1. OMG I just peed my pants.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

