RSS Feed

Project Overdraft: week 2

Posted on

Oh friends, what a stellar week. Are you ready for this? I don’t think you are. You should probably get something to drink.

I ended this week with $40 left in my wallet. No, I am not shitting you. Yes, I am serious. Forty. Dollars. LEFT OVER. Plus? Another $5.00 in change that went immediately into The Pickle Jar of Summer Fun (trademark). And! And? And?! I lowered the amount of money in my dining/entertainment section by $30 and I didn’t miss it. I probably would have if I’d wanted to go to the movies or buy a book or whatever, but otherwise? It was good. And?! I did two amazing things: paid for Amelia’s fall soccer registration without stressing out and paid for Olivia’s preschool registration without worrying. In CASH. And still had $40 left over at the end of the week.  I’ll stand still while you pat me on the back.

What am I going to do with all this extra cash I have floating around in my checking account you’re wondering? I was wondering that too. It’s good to see we’re on the same page.  As I’m up to a rousing what? $47.00? I figured I’d just let it ride for a while, kind of build up the coffers while I’m figuring out what works and what doesn’t.  We’re not talking large sums here, but in my book, something is something, yes? BFF Glenda once saved up enough cash that when she needed an expensive repair on her van done it was covered and the family budget didn’t suffer. That impressed the heck out of me because 1) I totally would have let the family budget suffer and 2) she’d managed to set a little aside each week. Something I (obviously) am not good at. But it’s okay. I console myself with the fact that I am a better speller than she. Except that she’s a better cook and much more clever than I am when it comes to things like building alliances. She alone would have carried her family to the top of the royal food chain. Fuck you, Boleyns and Semours, Glenda’s in da houuuuuuze!  Ummm… where was I? Oh yes. Finances. Anyway, I was totally impressed by her and really really really wanted to be able to do just that, and now? Through the power of working with actual cash dollar bills? I’m beginning to see that it is possible.

Anyone else waiting for the other shoe to fall?

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

Leave a Reply

