RSS Feed

School House Rock – ku!

Posted on

Knowledge is power!

As your body grows bigger

your mind must flower

 

Last night I nearly made a fool out of myself and cried in front of my fifth grade daughter’s class.  I’m glad I didn’t because socially it probably would have ruined her and I’d be the butt of all those, “Remember when Amy’s mom did the ugly cry at our spring performance? Yeah. Amy’s mom is such a loser” jokes.Last night the entire fifth grade performed School House Rock Live! and just hearing those songs threw me back in time when yeah, we did ride our bikes across town to buy Popsicles without fear of being kidnapped. Back to the time of shag hair cuts, The Donny and Marie Hour, my mother wearing long dresses and my dad sporting a fro. Back to the time when cartoons weren’t available 24/7 and Saturday morning meant getting up early, pouring yourself a heaping bowl of Cheerios and sugar and settling down in front of the television to watch Tom and Jerry, Isis (isisisisisisis), and Speed Racer. I tolerated a lot of dumb cartoons just to hear “as your body grows bigger, your mind must flower. It’s great to learn cause knowledge is power!” So yeah, I enjoyed School House Rock! probably more than most. It had everything I loved, great 70’s animation, peppy music, and it really did make learning fun. If only geometry had been School House Rocked!

More importantly, it was a time in my life when I had settled into my new home and my new family. For the first time I was secure and knew that this was my house and this was my bedroom and this was where I would wake up and go to sleep today and tomorrow and forever.  These were my toys, and I had a mommy anda daddy.  Some people smell baking cookies and are instantly back in their grandmother’s kitchen. I hear the opening strains of Interjection! and I’m back in our avocado green and harvest gold t.v. room wrapped in the crocheted blanket, sucking down sugar milk and laughing at the animated butt getting a shot (Hey! That’s not fair giving a guy a shot down there!).

So as my daughter and her peers hit the final, glorious notes of Interjections! (Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallejuiahhhhh, yeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!) I felt the goosebumps on my arms spring up and the familiar sting of tears behind my eyes. In some weird and wonderful way our timelines had intersected and I was so happy that she got to experience a bit of something that helped make her mother who she is. I waited until she went to bed before I cried.

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

11 responses »

  1. i love school house rocks! and today as my the 7th grade – that includes my son – performed we go together from grease, i had to fight back the tears!

    Reply
  2. awesome.

    (i’d say more but it’s hard to talk when i’m making out with my iphone…..)

    Reply
  3. Fabulous post. Just awesome.
    And I will definitely be one of those moms that always has to carry kleenex to every school performance.
    Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  4. I have come to the conclusion that I will embarrass my daughter soon enough and cry whenever it strikes me! Other moms get it! Fun post!

    Reply
  5. I love(d) School House Rocks!
    Fabulous haiku! Thank you for your sweet comments on my blog.

    I will be the crying mom, although I’ll hide it behind my big ass camera lens 😉

    Reply
  6. Great post! Times sure have changed from when we were kids. It’s sad.

    Also sad…no more school house rock. 😦

    Reply
  7. Aw, that’s awesome. Loved the haiku, but more the story behind it all. Super sweet.

    Reply
  8. loved your haiku, your post and your memories! I also love your header! I’ll be back : )

    Reply
  9. I totally heart SHR! I’ve got all the songs in my head now. Have to go pop in my DVD to feed the jones.

    Yep, I’ve got them on DVD. Don’t hate me. 🙂

    Reply
  10. I didn’t know they were on CD! I’ll add that to my birthday list (as my kids are fond of saying)! Thanks for the heads up.

    Reply
  11. Porterhouse says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

