RSS Feed

Mi-rena Mi-headache

Posted on

Okay, not really a physical htg (honest to gawd) headache. Maybe pain in the ass is better, or more accurately, pain in my uterus.  Except that there’s no pain other than the emotional pain of having your period full on for twenty-five straight days.  As a contraceptive I’d say it’s very effective, but Mirena promised shorter, lighter periods and to someone who has never had a short or a light period to promise and then not deliver is just cruel.

To be fair to Mir, I’ve only had her in for 2 cycles and apparently it takes up to six months to get everything adjusted and happy “down there.”  But to be fair to me, TWENTY-FIVE days? Are you kidding???

 

Mirena? You are on notice.

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

5 responses »

  1. R, my first period after the Mirena was VERY heavy and VERY long (not 25 days long… but long.. like two weeks or more). The next one wasn’t quite as bad.. the next one was even better… I think it took about 7 months before my period completely stopped. Its WONDERFUL! Hang in there!!

    Reply
  2. I had mine put in at my c-section post-op appt (6 weeks post baby?) so I think I hit that sweet spot of still nursing and not ovulating. I haven’t had a period in 3 years. I love Mirena. I’m pretty sure even if husband is snipped I’ll keep it.

    Reply
  3. Oh yeah that truly sucks….hope it doesn’t take too much longer to get ‘straightened out’

    Reply
  4. Oh yeah that truly sucks….hope it doesn’t take too much longer to get ‘straightened out’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

