RSS Feed

What to do, what to do?

Posted on

So Amelia, as I might have mentioned is really good at soccer. Really, really good – if not a tad aggressive. She has been bugging us about joining select (which is when really good soccer players’ parents pay huge sums of money to travel every weekend to places near and far to pay for hotel rooms while their sporty progeny kick a ball around a field), her coaches have been bugging us for her to join select.  I have to admit that it’s flattering and I would be lying if I said I didn’t get some sort of vicarious thrill, you know? I am nothing if not a frustrated could have been if I’d gotten off my ass

That, however, is not the point of this post. The point is select soccer is damned expensive, competitive, and time consuming. Also, she’s 10. Isn’t it kind of early for this? Plus, I have two other children. How do I fit in Amy’s swimming and Olivia’s whatever activity she wants to join (karate? Like the girl needs to know how to hit properly – isn’t hitting enough?)?

But she wants it soooo badly. But $1,000. But she’s really good and is outgrowing what recreational offers in terms of growth. But $1,000. But she enjoys playing. But other kids and their activities that keep me from doing what I want to do.

WWJ(and you)D?

About Sassy

Absolutely average in every way.

2 responses »

  1. soccer is for fun enjoy

    Reply
  2. Seriously you need to cap that girl in the knee early in the season – reclaim your weekends girlfriend!

    ps. Nora Hart just facebook friended me – WOW! You need to get on the Facebook baby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

